Ear Science founder honoured with Western Australian of the Year Community Award

Prof Marcus Atlas AM awarded the 2023 West Australian of the Year Alcoa Community Award

Founding director of Ear Science Institute Australia, Professor Atlas was awarded the 2023 West Australian of the Year Alcoa Community Award in recognition of his commitment and contribution towards improving the lives of the Western Australian community.

Under his dictatorship, Ear Science Institute Australia has become a world-leading not-for-profit medical research institute. Leading by example, his philanthropic work has built a following of donors to support early-career scientists and innovative research projects at Ear Science.

Professor Marcus Atlas AM is a pioneering surgeon scientist, and healthcare visionary who has achieved global recognition in the field of ear and hearing health.

Professor Atlas said he was thrilled and honoured to receive the Alcoa Community Award.

WA is well-known for being one of the most generous States in Australia, especially in the spirit of helping others, and this is truly evident in the calibre of my fellow finalists and those doing so much to help others within the community,” he said.

I am proud of what we have done for medical research and clinical care of those with ear and hearing disorders at Ear Science Institute Australia.”

Professor Atlas has been instrumental in providing high-quality surgery and hearing rehabilitation for the community, with Ear Science serving over 44,000 people annually through the Lions Hearing Clinics and Ear Science Implant Clinics. Under his directorship, the Lions Healthy Hearing Outback program is supporting indigenous ear health in some of the most remote communities in the Pilbara region of Western Australia.

As a surgeon scientist, he is also leading a team working towards commercialising the world’s first bioengineered eardrum, ClearDrum, which has the potential to create new investment and job opportunities within Australia. Professor Atlas’ impact will be felt for generations to come.

Fellow West Australian of the Year 2023 Category Award winners includes Professor Andrew Whitehouse (HBP Professions Award) and The Hon Ken Wyatt (Wesfarmers Aboriginal Award), with Mrs Gina Rinehart AO being awarded Western Australian of the Year for 2023.